Rockport

Even though I am studying video production in school and aim to work in that field one day, photography has to be my greatest hobby. I just absolutely LOVE taking pictures! I think part of it is I have an awful memory, so I like to capture moments so that I will remember them, but I also just love snapping pretty shots. It’s something that I take pride in. I love looking back on my work and seeing what I have done and how my photos are improving.

With all of the cold weather in Massachusetts lately, I can’t help but think back to summer.

I make some of my favorite memories in the summer; most of which I remember through pictures. One of my favorite things to take pictures of is water, or the beach. There’s something about it that is just so pretty and calming.

13935080_1785246885053360_2308002553920525130_n

This image above is one of my favorite pictures I have ever taken! First of all if you are from MA, you probably know that this red building is called Motif Number 1 and it is one of the most photographed buildings in New England.

It being present in the movie The Proposal was the first giveaway that the movie was partially filmed in Rockport MA as opposed to Alaska, where the story is set. I love this image because I just find that the composition is beautiful with the blue sky, red building, white seagull and greenish-post. Your eye is immediately drawn to the seagull in the foreground, but quickly looks back to take in the rest of the scenery.

img_2007-copy

This is another one of my favorite pictures from Rockport. It just screams calm summer day. I love the deep blue water and the very deep depth of field. I love that the photo seems balanced at first glance, but your eye naturally drifts to the right side where the boats and hillside appear larger. It’s also cool how the rocks on the left and hillside on the right direct your eye to look beyond the sailboats and into the opening of the water.

13920857_1785263095051739_4587683219124275178_n

Rockport holds a special place in my heart because I only go there with my aunt and uncle, who are like second parents to me. It’s been a tradition of ours for YEARS. We make day trips up there just to enjoy the pretty views and sunshine. This is their dog, Benny. I love this picture not only because he looks adorable, but because it also captures his personality so well. He looks so happy here and I think he is one of the happiest, most friendly dogs I’ve every met. I also love his black and white hair against the red building in the back. This photo also plays into the rule of thirds because Benny is off center and more towards the left of the photo, leaving lead room to the right, where he is looking off to.

14045790_1785248301719885_3601825674229939262_n

I think I take a picture of this spot every time I go to Rockport. I love the way the rocks lead into the water. There’s really nothing special in this photo’s composition, but it is still one of my favorites, maybe just because I hold so many fond memories of sitting by those rocks and looking out into the water. It has a kind of peace to it.

What amazes people most is that I actually took all of those pictures on my iPhone 6, which is really the only camera that I have, currently. Some people assume that I use some fancy camera like a DSLR, but really it’s just a matter of having the right subject and the right lighting. Lighting is everything!! I also edit my photos a little bit, usually just to bring back the life in them. Sometimes when I take pictures I feel like they don’t look as good as the scenery actually did in real life. I play around with the saturation, brightness and contrast to try to make the photo as accurate to reality as possible, because usually I take the pictures so that I can remember how beautiful that particular place was at that time. I don’t like to overly Photoshop my photos though because I still like to maintain a level of authenticity.

I would encourage you to not be discouraged if you don’t have the best equipment to work with right now. Use what you have and build up skills, so that when you do have advanced equipment, you know how to use it. What makes the best photos is not necessarily how good your camera is, but how you use it. Like I said earlier; I like the composition of these photos. I like the use of the rule of thirds, the color contrasts, the lighting, etc. Having a “good eye” for your subject is the most important thing.

But having a good camera does help.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. gweynclaire says:

    I love how professional the photos look, I thought they were taken with a high quality camera!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. npat24 says:

    Aw thank you! 🙂 I love hearing that people like my pictures! Hopefully soon I WILL be taking my photos with an actual professional quality camera instead of just using my phone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

