Saturation

I take all of my pictures on an iPhone.

It’s not by choice. I’m just a college student that is forced to put all  of my income towards paying my tuition, so purchasing a nice camera isn’t really in the budget. Luckily, iPhone cameras are improving and there are a lot of adjustments that can be made to improve the appearance of the photo.

I believe that all photographers have a style. Not only meaning the type of photography they do, although I do prefer landscapes, but also in the way their photos look. For example, some people like black and white photos. I know a photographer who intentionally over-exposes all of her photos.

I personally over saturate. I love color! And I want my photos to pop!

fullsizerender-12

This picture above is one that I took last summer. It’s a grist mill in Sudbury MA, or THE Grist Mill, I should say. It’s pretty well known in the area because it’s owned by the Wayside Inn and I have A LOT of family photos here, so it’s a little sentimental for me. For me, this is one of my favorite photos. I live for color composition like this.

But would you believe me if I said the original photo looked like this…

img_1014

Crazy, right? It’s even surprising to me when I look back and see how over exposed this picture is. I mean like I said, it was taken on an iPhone camera, so you don’t have much control over exposure- if any.screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-9-01-37-pm

But with a little love and care I was able to bring life back into the photo.

It’s hard to say the exact edits that I made because this was taken back in August first of all and secondly, I probably just kept making little tweaks until it was just right. But one thing I can say I definitely did was SATURATE SATURATE SATURATE.

It is amazing a difference that one little feature can make. What is key here, is that I was able to bring color back where it was needed, but other parts of the photo almost untouched.

You can see one of the biggest changes is the sky and the dirt path. Both of those things were pretty much white, but by adding saturation to the photo, I was able to bring back some original color. I had to balance this out by bringing the warmth/temperature of the photo down to keep it looking kind of natural. See how the stone of the building is almost the same in each picture? Now some people might say that the sky is too blue, the grass is too green or the wheel is too red…maybe for you, but like I said- I love color!

fullsizerender-13

Here is  another picture from the Wayside Inn property in Sudbury MA. img_1034

Here is the original. This photo wasn’t as over exposed as the other one, but I still felt like it needed a little more life.

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-9-02-40-pm

One difference between these two photos that might not be immediately obvious is that I cropped the “after” photo on the left, but when I did so I only cropped the right side. Doing that starts to bring in the rule of thirds because our eyes are more drawn to things that are off center. So even though the church was centered when I took the picture, I was able to change the composition. Photo composition and rule of thirds is something I plan to discuss more throughly in future posts.

Some people don’t always agree with increasing the saturation of the overall photo and saturate specific parts instead. I think most photographers would say that I go a little crazy with the saturation tool, but it is all about personal preference.

You can also adjust the vibrance of a photo, rather than the saturation.

It’s really up to you as the photographer though. You can decided the overall look you want your pictures to have.

Leave a Reply

