Passionate

When I was young I really wanted to be a ballerina. Then I wanted to be a race car driver. I also wanted to be a nurse, a cop, a firefighter and anything else you could name was probably on my list at some point. It wasn’t until high school when I really found my passion.

When I was in middle school I got asked to read the morning announcements over the loud speaker. I did so well that I was asked to do it everyday for all of seventh and eighth grade. When it was coming close to the end of my 8th grade year, one of the secretaries that worked in the main office said I was a natural and should pursue television. Even though I was only reading the announcements over a PA system, she could tell I would love making TV. She told me that the high school in town had a television studio where they broadcast the morning announcements and other news stories they put together, live on the public access station in town, every morning.

This vote of confidence from the secretary was all I needed. I got recommendation letters from the school principal, vice principal and a few other teachers. Then, as an 8th grade student, I set up an interview with the director of all the video production classes and TV studio at the high school. I had to go through this process because the TV classes were not offered to freshman, but I couldn’t wait a whole year to get involved with such a cool opportunity. The man who taught the TV classes was impressed that I put in so much effort to be able to take his class and seemed so passionate that he approved for me to sign into the classes my freshman year, on the spot.

I continued to take TV production classes all throughout high school and it became more than just a hobby, it became a passion. I knew that video production in some form was going to be major in college and my future career.

317167_269363523102547_307264091_n

Currently I am a Communication major with a concentration in Media Arts & Analysis.

17155369_1890198554558192_4513174049448975516_n

I found the part of this article that discussed being a Communication major really interesting and also kind of insulting. I mean the fact that it is titled “The 10 Most Worthless College Majors” says a lot, but the funniest part to me was that the author’s tag line says that he is a freelance writer and filmmaker. Umm? So he either was probably a Communication major in school or he didn’t go to school, so he isn’t in a place to judge me for seeking higher education in the field he is working in. The worst part of his rant was when he says “let’s face the facts: you are a communications major with a focus on graduating at best, and at worst you are a communications major with a focus on the perpetual existential crisis of having nothing in life that you are the least bit passionate about”. This hit home because if there is one thing I know, it’s that I am passionate about what I do. I love making videos and taking pictures and there has not once been a time where I questioned my decision to major in Communication.

What is most fascinating and frustrating though is that a lot of people share his beliefs. I have come across many people that think that Communication majors are lazy, their classes are easy, they don’t know what they want to do in life and that’s why they ended up here. A lot of people also tell me that I’ll probably end up being a barista at Starbucks when I graduate- so that’s super encouraging.

When I tell people that I am a Communication major the first thing they usually say is “what classes do you take, public speaking?” or people just assume we only learn how to talk to each other. It’s kind of true in a way because, yes, I take classes that have to do with human communication and global communication where we talk about how humans communicate differently, but communication is way more than just the verbal. It’s writing, video, web, etc. That is why when people outside of school ask me what I am studying, I usually just say Video Production because ultimately that is what it boils down to.

I could really relate to Taylor’s article because she brings up some really great points and I felt a sense of camaraderie with her.

Majoring in Communication is a cool opportunity because it is such a broad field with so many opportunities, so I am not just limited to one form of media or one specific job. I don’t necessarily know where I want to work, but that doesn’t make me lazy or mean that I won’t get a job when I graduate. Do lawyers know exactly which law firm they are going to work for? Do doctors know exactly which hospital they are going to work at? No, probably not. Some doctors may not even know what specialty they want to practice. They know they want to study medicine and help people. I know that I want to make videos somewhere. I don’t know where for for who, but I do know that I am passionate about it.

Leave a Reply

