Flare

Let’s talk about the most annoying aspect of iPhone cameras, shall we?

Two words: Lens. Flares.

What is a lens flare, you may ask? Well, a lens flare refers to when light is scattered or flared (hence the name), usually due to focusing on a bright light source. It is definitely undesirable and unwanted. A lens flare could be very dramatic or it could just be one ring. Or one corrupt pixel.

Unfortunately this is something I experience on a regular basis. Maybe not to the extreme of these photos above, but I definitely get an undesired effect.

IMG_7609

Here, above is my  first example of many. What. the. heck. Now some people may not see anything wrong with this picture. Some people may see a beautiful sunset. And it is! But that red halo with the glowing green dot- yeah that’s not supposed to be there. And in my opinion it completely ruins the picture.

These pictures are from the same day and as you can see, the halo moves around. Now if you’re an observant human, you’ve probably noticed that this issue occurs when photographing the sun.

This is fantastic because sunsets are pretty much my favorite thing to photograph…

Now after I realized that this was a reoccurring issue I decided to go to the professionals themselves. Google. I spent countless hours trying to find a setting or adjustment to make this not happen anymore. I saw that a lot of people seemed to be having the same issue. I also saw this happening in a lot of photos my friends and family were posting.

When I got no answers, I decided to bring my phone to Apple and explain to them that they have a fault in their product. They told me that they had never seen such a thing! They even told me it looked like a ghost. A ghost? Can you believe it?

That was great news considering this “ghost” was clearly following me EVERYWHERE. Even at 30,000 feet.

Ultimately Apple decided to replace my phone completely because they didn’t think they would be able to fix the problem. Shocking, I know.

So I went home happy as can be because I thought I would finally be able to take sunset pics without having to photoshop out the unwanted halos and glowing pixels that show up.

pmuMHw.gif

As the Grinch would say, “wrongo”….

IMG_0334

You guessed it. It happened again. I WAS SO PISSED. I came to the conclusion that all iPhone 6 plus cameras are defective.

But don’t you worry- this happens with the iPhone 7 cameras too.

The only hope I have for you is that you can try to line the  lens flare up just right with the sun so that it is barely noticeable.

Or according to Apple, the solution is changing the angle of the camera, so it doesn’t happen. I guess we can’t expect much from such a little piece of technology.

IMG_0332

But really, you should just look at this as an opportunity for lots of practice with Photoshop.

IMG_7623

Because with Photoshop we can pretend nothing ever happened. 🙂

If you don’t have Photoshop or don’t want to invest in it, you can also fix the problem by using the app Snapseed!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

