Snapseed 2.0

A few weeks ago I did a post about the app, Snapseed.

This week I did a little experimenting with the app and I have some mixed feelings.

I am usually hesitant to use photo editing apps because I usually find that they are very basic in what they offer, plus I usually like an excuse to try new things with Photoshop.

Snapseed is a little different.

Snapseed-App-Update-18

Not only do they offer the typical adjustments such as brightness, contrast, saturation, etc, but they also have a wide variety of filters. They have some that change the color of the image such as the black&white and vintage shown above, but they also offer filters that can drastically change the appearance of the image.

Here’s what I mean:

The picture on the left is the original image. The picture on the left is what I came out with after all the edits I applied through Snapseed.

I adjusted the brightness and saturation a bit to get the photo looking how I wanted, then I began to test their more unique features.

IMG_4809

I used the “lens blur” filter to blur the background and make me and my friend appear to be more in focus. I also added a face spotlight and “smooth” filter to the photo.

Here is another example of a photo that I edited with Snapseed.

I really like all of the filters and more advanced adjustments you can make to your picture perfect.

My one complaint is that when using the lens blur, it’s hard to really control what is blurred and what isn’t. You can adjust the size of the oval, but you only really have the option of an oval which isn’t always ideal.

I do think this app is really great for creating the perfect selfie though and I plan to use it a lot more!!

Here is a quick video I found that shows a few more of the many features that Snapseed offers, but I highly recommend you download it and try it for yourself 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

