Healing

I just discovered a HUGE time saver and I have to share it!

This is big, especially in these summer months. As I have shared in the past, I love taking pictures of sunsets. The problem with that is, if you use your phone camera you will likely get some kind of lens flare in the picture because iPhone cameras just aren’t built to directly photograph the sun.

It looks a little something like this.

IMG_0025

Okay, maybe it’s very subtle in this photo. Maybe you don’t even see it at first glance. But that little blue dot on the left of the photo isn’t supposed to be there AND IT DRIVES ME INSANE. I’ll admit this is a minor case, and it does kind of blend in with the ocean. It wouldn’t be the end of the world if I left it there. It doesn’t take too much away from the photo.

I like to remove lens flares. In previous posts I have talked about how I would bring the images into photoshop and clone stamp them out that way. I thought that was the only way, but it can be annoying to have to take that extra step of going from phone, to computer, back to phone, in order to post it.

I was just playing around with Snapseed again, an app that I have talked about in the past (Snapseed & Snapseed 2.0 ) and have really grown to love.

I just learned about the “Healing” feature. This is a feature similar to the clone stamp on Photoshop. You have less control, but it is PERFECT for getting rid of these pesky lens flares and you can do it very fast!

FullSizeRender 5

This is the same picture without the lens flare, after using the healing tool! You would never know it was there!

The feature is most effective with simple backgrounds that are easy to replicate.

Try it our for yourself and let me know how it goes! Comment with other features of the Snapseed app you like!

Leave a Reply

